North and North West Queensland

Far North Queensland North and North West Queensland Mackay/Isaac/Whitsunday Western Queensland Central Queensland Wide Bay/Burnett/Fraser Coast Darling Downs South West Queensland South East Queensland

To help identify and address the key priorities facing regional areas, in 2019 the Queensland Government, established a suite of meetings and roundtables with community members across the state. These consultations have created valuable conversations with local business owners, families and workers around making communities even better places to live and work.

Now we want to build on these conversations. We want to be more responsive to the needs and priorities of regional Queenslanders, and we want to ensure we can take advantage of opportunities to strengthen regional economies and services.

Since 2019 we have established:

  • Regional Community Forums held 4 times per year—to strengthen our partnership with regional Queensland and to give those living in our regions greater access to government and better opportunities to influence government decision-making.
  • Department of the Premier and Cabinet offices in Maryborough, Rockhampton, Cairns, Mackay, Townsville, Toowoomba, and Longreach.
  • The Office for Rural and Regional Queensland—to stay connected with local communities and to ensure Queensland’s regions are front of mind in decision making.

Our clear focus on the regions ties in with our ongoing commitment to be a responsive government that delivers for all Queenslanders.

Regional Community Forums

Applications from community members to be a part of the Forums are now closed.

Each forum is made up of 20 appointed community members and is attended by members of the Queensland Parliament.


Mr Aaron Harper MP
Member for Thuringowa

Mr Les Walker MP
Member for Mundingburra

Regional Community Forum Members

  • Sarah Burke—Townsville
  • Kylie Camp—Burketown
  • Jeff Constable—Mount Isa
  • Bruce Cornish—Townsville
  • Georgia Crocker—Julia Creek
  • Michael Ferguson—Townsville
  • Candi Dempster—Townsville
  • James Fahey—McDesme
  • Dianne Newell—Townsville
  • Pete Fornasier—Hughenden
  • Patsy-Ann Fox—Richmond
  • Christy-Maree Guinea—Townsville
  • Rebecca Verzeletti—Townsville
  • Chris Manning—Townsville
  • Merissa Martinez—Townsville
  • Johnty O’Brien—Normanton
  • Jan Pool—Townsville
  • Kendall Santillan—Mount Isa
  • Chrissy Warren-Backo—Halifax

Previous Forums

Forums have been held on:

  • Monday 14 November 2022
  • Monday 26 September 2022
  • Monday 11 July 2022
  • Monday 30 May 2022
  • Monday 22 November 2021
  • Monday 27 September 2021
  • Monday 21 June 2021
  • Monday 29 March 2021
  • Monday 3 August 2020
  • Tuesday 23 June 2020
  • Monday 24 February 2020
  • Monday 28 October 2019


For more information contact the Advancing Queensland's Regions team via email: